Godswill Akpabio emerges as Senate President

Ex-Governor Godswill Akpabio of All Progressives Congress has emerged as Senate president.

Mr Akpabio won the highest votes among senators to emerge as Senate president at Tuesday’s inauguration of the 10th session of the National Assembly.

Mr Akpabio polled 63 votes to defeat Abdulaziz Yari, former Zamfara governor, his major challenger who scored polled 46.

A lawyer-turned-politician, Mr Akpabio was Akwa Ibom’s governor between 2007 and 2014. He won a Senate seat in 2015, becoming a minority leader, but he resigned his position as minority leader to join the APC in 2018.

Under former President Muhammadu Buhari’s regime, he served as minister for Niger Delta Affairs from 2019 to 2022.